The Greatest Man I Ever Met

I first met him when I was nine years old…..

Steve Blanton

Steve Blanton, the greatest man I have ever met, born on October 9, 1954, died in the early morning of October 24, 2009. He is survived by his wife, 6 children, 3 grandchildren, his father, two sisters, and his brother.

…..There was a brunch at church that Sunday morning just before the service began and I noticed my Mom talking to a man whom I had seen going to the church for a while but had not ever met before. They seemed to be hitting it off pretty well and I was curious about who this gentlemen might be. So I decided to go over and meet him and after talking to him for just a brief time, I immediately loved and adored him…. Steve soon became the man I would call ‘Dad’.

He carried that title for just over twenty-five years, showing me that I was his son, not his step-son. He was a man of rare loyalty, integrity, patience, perseverance, and great faith in the Lord. He loved his family. He showed me, by his example, the character of a good man. He was a Dad to me when I did not have one by taking the job when no one else wanted it. And to him it was not a job, it was a labor of love in which he delighted. I thank God for the pleasure and privilege of knowing him, being raised by him, and working with him over the years. He will always be my Dad! 

Leave a Reply

