Alexander Nisbet?

1 & 2 Peter, Geneva Commentary Series

I am starting a men’s bible study on I & II Peter within a week. When I start a bible study, I like to get a taste of perspectives from more than one century (i.e. not just my own) on commentaries that I use. I have been searching for a puritan commentary and I have been interested in one by Alexander Nisbet, but I don’t know about him at all and am having trouble getting any info on him.

Does anyone know anything about him or at least the quality of his commentary on I & II Peter? Any help or links would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

3 thoughts on “Alexander Nisbet?

  1. I stumbled across your blog while searching for information on Alexander Nisbet. I’m working my way through his outstanding commentary on 1-2 Peter. It’s definitely a wonderful commentary. I know that it’s been well over two years since you posted this article but thought I would drop a note to agree with you on this great commentary.

    Soli Deo Gloria!

  2. I am in the same boat as puritanjay. I’ve been reading his commentary while I am preaching through these epistles and the amount of light in this work is almost blinding. But I can’f find out anything about him other than what he has written in the book. Clearly, he is a methodical and dense thinker, very much in the Puritan mold.

    1. I live in Irvine, Ayrshire, Scotland. I do have some local information on Alexander Nisbet that may be of interest to you. For instance, he is ‘sleeping’ about a minute’s walk from where I write. Regards………Billy

Leave a Reply

