Surrendering Our Character

Spurgeon on his character being attacked. Do we prize even our character before men too much? From his autobiography:

“I shall never forget the circumstance, when, after I thought I had made a full consecration to Christ, a slanderous report against my character came to my ears, and my heart was broken in agony because I should have to lose that, in preaching Christ’s gospel. I fell on my knees, and said,

‘Master, I will not keep back even my character for Thee. If I must lose that, too, then let it go; it is the dearest thing I have, but it shall go, if, like my Master, they shall say I have a devil, and am mad, or, like Him, I am a drunken man or a wine-bibber.'”

C.H. Spurgeon Autobiography Volume 1 page 303; Early Criticisms and Slanders

Leave a Reply

