He Gave Us Fathers

It’s A Wonderful Life is my favorite movie of all time. In the scene above, George Bailey’s honeymoon has just been canceled by a run on the bank. In a moment of gathering himself, he stops and takes a look at the picture of his deceased father hanging on the wall of his office. I can only imagine what would have been going through his mind at this moment, but for some reason this particular scene has been replaying in my mind as of late.

With my Dad’s passing almost five months ago, I find myself wanting to talk to him and wishing I had gotten more advice from him while I had the opportunity. He had real character. Realizing that he isn’t around for me to talk to feels so foreign and seems to hit me as if I have been awoken suddenly from a deep sleep. The reality of it all is still so incomprehensible to me. Behold the sting of death for those that wait for it but are laid waste through theĀ collateral damage of lost loved ones. While I still live, I am reminded to be a good father, to be a good husband, to be a good steward of what God has placed in my charge. I am reminded to be thankful.

I thank God for godly parents. I thank God that I had a good Dad. I thank God that I will see him again. I thank God that there is an example behind me and a goal before me. I thank God that He will wipe away all tears and sadness. I thank God for His Son.

Thank God!

One thought on “He Gave Us Fathers

Leave a Reply

