The Burden Belongs To Christ

Let us give what burdens us to Christ. It belongs to Him. It was taken from us and given to Him. Or do we care more for our sorrow than the glory of God?

They hearken to the voice of Christ calling them to him with their burden, “Come unto me, all ye that are weary and heavy laden;”—” Come with your burdens; come, thou poor soul, with thy guilt of sin.” Why? what to do? “Why, this is mine,” saith Christ;” this agreement I made with my Father, that I should come, and take thy sins, and bear them away: they were my lot. Give me thy burden, give me all thy sins. Thou knowest not what to do with them; I know how to dispose of them well enough, so that God shall be glorified, and thy soul delivered.”

John Owen, Volume 2, Communion With God, page 194; Read here, or buy here

Leave a Reply

