The Best Laid Plans

I am currently preparing to teach on the Tabernacle for Sunday School at church and I have found myself constantly checking with the book of Revelation to see what it will be like in  the New Heaven and New Earth, which will be the perfect and complete Tabernacle. Since I build cabinets and furniture, I am reminded that I start with what I want to end up with. Every project has to be built in my mind and on paper before it can be built in reality, else what goals do I have? I see the same in the example of the Tabernacle which is in progress all through Scripture to the end of a perfected fellowship with God, and in us…

For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them. (Eph 2:10 NKJV)
you also, as living stones, are being built up a spiritual house, a holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. (1Pe 2:5 NKJV)

In woodworking, the trees start out rough and require work to turn them into something useful. They must be killed, dried, and cut in order to make them a new, lasting creation. The work of which cannot be done by the tree for itself. It cannot become anything without the work and effort of the craftsman. I see Christ in this example. We do not just work to produce something for the sake of work. We work that we may see an example of Christ, ‘For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus….’.

Everything points us to Christ, even our work.

Leave a Reply

